Grandparents

Seeing my grandparents it’s one of the most extraordinary experience I have had in a while. I would sit in the corner of them room and just look at them they would talk to me and in a couple of minutes they completly ignore my existence and go on with their daily routine.

Those two have been fighting for the last atleast 50 years. My grandad had a stroke couple of years ago, his movement is quite restricted. He’s always loved his room ans his bed.one of the best times I remember from my childhood have been sitting with him in his bed, eating some random fruit while he tells me tales from his childhood and his fathers childhood. Sometimes we would just sit there and watch cricket for hours while my grand mother kept telling him things he had to do. Whenever she would enter the room she would stop cursing or telling him what to do and start it with the players.

” who selects them, they can’t even hold a bat properly” , ” will it kill him to hit the ball properly” , ” it’s a ball not a hen that you jump on it instead of catching it”, she would say. Then she would remember a joke related to a hen she used to have when she was young. Some random sound will distract her and she will remember she had to pray then curse me, herself or the crickets to make her forget what time it was.

They still sit there arguing well more like she being loud and him being his quite yet stubborn self. The topics have changed over the years though. Why do you always have to bring mud inside has changed to why do you pee at night when I know your capable of holding it. Why do you not like seeing me at ease she would say. He used to smile on the boots comment or say to me “your grandma’s just”, the smile muscles don’t work anymore nor does the witty side of his brain.

It was a windy day I had a small pull a string helicopter toy, it got stuck in a big tree in the park; he tried whatever he could it was still up there taunting me. ” no I don’t want a new one and no I’m not going home till I get it back” not even once he got mad at me oh well not atleast for another hour. I’m still the stubborn child and he’s still the patient grandad but now I try to keep my toy away from the tree.

Every night I get almost the same lesson always with a teary eye. Take care of my daughter your her only son, the only one she relies on. Everynight I sleep saying I will take care of things better and every morning I wake up screaming, I don’t want to wake up.

Their still arguing this time I think it’s about him not wanting his pills properly and his too much sugar intake. He would still remain quite and wait for her to go then quitely tell me to ask my mother if she can get him something sweet.

Here is the funny bit take them apart for an hour and they would be checking for each other. She’s certainly the second most precious thing for him after his bed and he is her most precious thing after cleaning up the house.

Can you clean that up for me she would ask and you have to, always. When your away she will always hover it again cause it was not done properly. She would not stop asking or cleaning. If you something about it you will end up listening to how he raised you and your parents and well it’s just adorable. I still mess with her sometimes just to hear that lecture. Never gets old and everytime it’s genuin ans straight from the heart and every time she does with a hope that you’d be a better person. Just like she’s bieng telling my mother every week “don’t worry he’s going to turn out ok” for the last 24 years.

Those two are the most cute most genuin people I have ever met. It hurts me every time I see him not being able to move around and get food himself something he loved and her cleaning up like she always has loved. But at the same time I haven’t seen them this close and this cute still arguing about little things and having all their worries around their kids. Every prayer a half hour long and just for the kids.

Well don’t have a final note or moral, cause I want this tale to go on as long as it can, happily.

Published by

Fahim Akhter

Fahim is a product manager with over 10 years of experience currently working as product head at MONT5. He focuses on user centric centric design, especially on brand, user experience and revenue product challenges. Prior to joining MONT5, Fahim's has worn multiple hats during his career from game production to product development but the emphasis has always been on creating unparalleled user experience and to help startups to make complex products more engaging. He has worked on diversified portfolio of startups including games, apps, education and e-commerce with product reach of 10M users across the globe. Fahim is a computer science graduate from FAST Islamabad. He volunteers for education and mentors students and startups, to help them grow and drive innovation.

One thought on “Grandparents”

Leave a Reply

