What did you read this year? This is my list from 2016

Reading time: 3 min
Summary: One line reviews of 13 books divided in philosophy, sci-fi, self help and business.

The stockpile of unread books in my room had been increasing with time. When  I did get some time my energy level was so low from reading for work all day that I did not want to read anymore. With the number of books my anxieties grew. Finally I got a solution this year, audiobooks for the win. It’s not only helped me get through books I’ve wanted to read for a while, but it has also helped me pick up physical books again.

The target was 3 books a month, which hasn’t been achieved yet. But will be inshallah but the end of the year. But hey 13 books more than last six months.

Psychology / Philosophy

Siddhartha – Hermann Hesse – 152 pages (read again) ★★★★★
Siddhartha is super short & there is a lot packed in it. It’s mystical without being a book of tips. It’s a life changer.

Road less travelled – M.S Pegg 316 pages (read again) ★★★★★
Road less travel if anything makes you understand yourself better. It’s a collection of cases from a psychologist office.

Working with Emotional Intelligence  – Daniel Colman  – 400 pages ★★★☆☆
I would recommend reading E.I the first book over working with E.I this is more of a implementation book of it.

Business

The innovators – Walter Isaacson  – 528 pages ★★★★★
Where did all this tech revolution start, the book follows the innovations to innovators from the first electronic device to Gates & Jobs. Teaches you a whole lot not only about who did it, but how & what internal & external factors make an innovation work.

Tipping Point – Malcolm Gladwell301 pages ★★★★★
It’s a collection of wonderful case studies & experiences from Hush Puppies, control of crime rate in new york to how sesame street is as addictive as much as it is. It’s a recipe for what makes anything tip and become a phenomenon.

Free Prize Inside – Seth Gordon – 256 pages ★★★★★
Marketing isn’t what it used to be 20 years ago. The book follows a wonderful philosophy of making products that market themselves. It’s gives a lot of marketing perspective about which Gladwell talks in the tipping point.

The hard things about hard things – Ben Horowitz – 304 pages ★★★★☆
If you’re in a decision maker which influences business & the lives that it involves, it’s a great read. It gets too specific at times, if you’re not a CEO with a VC backing it becomes a little unrelatable in some chapters. (for me personally)

Self Help

Getting things done – David Allen – 267 pages ★★★★★
If I’ve been able to do something in the last couple of months it’s because of Getting things done. A super short book a wonderful toolkit on getting things on track & getting rid of the I need to do that anxiety.

Monk who sold his Ferrari – Robin Sharma – 200 pages ★★★★☆
Some great tips in Sharma’s book a must read but too self helpy at times. Either way some great tips in there to help you in everyday life and focus on what’s important.

The 4 hour workweek – Timothy Ferriss – 308 pages ★★☆☆☆
The issue with 4 hour work week is that it sells a very modern, a very particular dream & it sells it in a tele sales borderline unethical at times illegal way. But if you want to build a lifestyle business that pays it’s a great toolkit. Has some great business tips nonetheless.

Fiction

Neuromancer – William Gibson – 271 pages  ★★★★★
Neuromancer, the original cyber punk. If you like Ghost in a shell, the matrix  it’s a must read. There’s a lot happening all the time, you might need to reread it to enjoy it fully, I did.

Snow Crash – Neal Stephenson – 470 pages ★★★★☆
Snow Crash is prediction of the future in parts, the book who introduced the concept of avatars & virtual worlds. All packed in cyber punk world. Great read.

The Mote in God’s Eye – Niven & Pournelle  – 596 pages ★★★★☆
It’s interspace travel, war and discovery. The thing that makes it tick is it makes you think about how different an alien civilization can be & still make sense and work. Really opens your horizon to a very different form of social structure and thinking.

The next target is to down 25% more books in the next 6 months, Inshallah.

Here’s my Good Reads Profile, give me a shout if you have any recommendations. I’d love to fill my list.

Thank you Zaki for introducing me to introducing me to audiobooks & the gifts. Thanks Ather Bhai for the recommendations & GTD. Thanks Izza for letting me borrow all the books.

Published by

Fahim Akhter

Fahim is a product manager with over 10 years of experience currently working as product head at MONT5. He focuses on user centric centric design, especially on brand, user experience and revenue product challenges. Prior to joining MONT5, Fahim's has worn multiple hats during his career from game production to product development but the emphasis has always been on creating unparalleled user experience and to help startups to make complex products more engaging. He has worked on diversified portfolio of startups including games, apps, education and e-commerce with product reach of 10M users across the globe. Fahim is a computer science graduate from FAST Islamabad. He volunteers for education and mentors students and startups, to help them grow and drive innovation.

2 thoughts on “What did you read this year? This is my list from 2016”

  1. Its Samuel William Din from Pakistan, Karachi. I am a insurance agent. I never paid income tax and not submitted e filing of tax returns. I borrowed 200000 rupees from my friends and invested in stock exchange. As my friends had sent me money by cross cheques and online transfer, it remained in my and my wife’s account for one year then we invested. Now FBR has sent notices to me and my wife. My wife is staff nurse in Aga Khan Hospital and pays her tax there. But she has not mentioned this investment in her returns.
    Now we are in trouble. Please help us and save us from FBR as they are behind me and my wife.
    Thanks. Samuel William Din, Karachi.

Leave a Reply

